What’s in my lip balm?

Have you ever looked what is actually in your lip balm? I can’t believe I hadn’t.

I am constantly losing my lip balms! (I have a feeling Little Rose may have something to do with it) Without fail, I buy a new one at least once a month (at a ridiculous marked up cost), and here I was thinking I was buying a “natural” brand.

I should know better.

I won’t name and shame this brand because I am not like that, but I will make a completely safe, organic food standard alternative that I will happily let Little Rose and Tahi boy smother all over their little lips! (and I will keep at least two on me)

The ingredients for the “natural” lip gloss I had been using included Homosalate (as the first ingredient!)

What is Homosalate? It’s basically a chemical that is often used in sunscreen.
Why is it a problem? Well I quote…

“HOMOSALATE is a potential endocrine disruptor and studies in cells suggest it may impact hormones. In addition to direct health concerns following homosalate exposure, the chemical may also enhance the absorption of pesticides in the body”Safe Cosmetic Facts

It holds a warning for pregnant/breastfeeding women, infants, people with exposure to pesticides and agricultural workers (because of its ability to enhance absorption of pesticides). Whoah and this is a lip balm?!

Ok, so that was enough for me, but I thought I’d look into the other ingredients.
As I said I should have known better, if you don’t know what the ingredients on the label are, your body probably won’t either!
It also contained 4- Methylbenzylidene Camphor and Octocrylene.

Well, they are just as fantastic. 4- Methylbenzylidene Camphor is used as a UV filter, it’s safety rating is not great and it has been banned in products for children and pregnant women in most European countries and is not approved for use as an active ingredient in the U.S. Why?

“European researchers cite concerns over thyroid toxicity, hormone disruption, and recommend the chemical not be used in sunscreen.
Other HIGH concerns: Endocrine disruption, Persistence and bio-accumulation”  EWG.org

Oh, and as for Octocrylene, it’s been linked to biochemical and cellular level changes, as well as bio-accumulation, toxicity and skin/eye/lung irritations.

So, I won’t be putting ANYTHING on my lips without checking first, and I surely won’t be letting Little Rose be using anything unsafe. So I made our own and I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out!

Well, I can tell you what’s in Tahi and Rose’s lip balm, PURE AND BENEFICIAL SKINFOOD.
Pure ingredients, beneficial to you, your body and our environment. Made from quality food grade ingredients, because what we put on our skin goes into our bodies – especially our lips!

  • Organic Shea Butter
  • Organic Natural Beeswax
  • Organic Raw Cacao
  • Australian Extra Virgin Olive Oil (Cold Pressed)
  • Organic Evening Primrose Extract (also contains Organic Olive Oil, Natural Vitamin E, Organic Rosemary Leaf Extract and Soya Bean Oil)
    and that’s it.

I will be perfecting the formula and finding a more eco-friendly container for them, but for now I have few available for trial at a reduced price if you’d like to add them to any online order ( click here for the online shop )

I hope your lip balm was a little better than the one I had in my handbag, if it’s not, at least you know now.

http://www.safecosmetics.org/get-the-facts/chemicals-of-concern/homosalate/#_edn8

http://www.safecosmetics.org/get-the-facts/chemicals-of-concern/homosalate/#_edn11


https://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ingredient/700047/4-METHYLBENZYLIDENE_CAMPHOR/

http://www.safecosmetics.org/get-the-facts/chemicals-of-concern/homosalate/#_edn1

https://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ingredient/704206/OCTOCRYLENE/

https://www.choice.com.au/health-and-body/beauty-and-personal-care/skin-care-and-cosmetics/articles/chemicals-in-cosmetics

 

Leave a Reply

